Thing 19: Reflection on the Things thus far

Our assignment for cpd23 this week is to look back on what we’ve done, talk about what we’ve incorporated into life/work, and think about what we’d like to do for the rest of the program.  I wish I could say that I’ve taken every fancy tool and cool social media gadget and started using them all the time, but I can’t.  I’ve gotten in the groove of using a few: the RSS feed to keep up with blogs I like, Google Calendar to organize my life, Google Docs to share work with classmates.  But more than the gadgets, I’ve liked that cpd23 has given me a reason to keep up with blogging, ideas for what to write about, and linked me with a network of fellow library bloggers.  I’ve really enjoyed some of the more reflective Things, like why I got into the library field and attending/presenting at/organizing events.  Some of the reflective Things I had already thought about a lot and been forced to explain over and over, and some I hadn’t thought about much at all.  In either case, it was good to discuss them with a clean slate, so to speak, to an audience that doesn’t know me personally.

I can’t believe there are only a few Things left!  I’m looking forward to the rest of them.

